jump to navigation

New Weighted-Key Digital Piano! January 23, 2012

Posted by stuffilikenet in Awesome, Toys.
trackback

My wife took advantage of a terrific deal on this Casio CDP-120 88 Weighted-Key Digital Piano from Musiciansfriend.com, an outfit I recommend highly (I bought a mandolin and a guitar from them, and one of my co-workers saw me looking at another guitar and bought it for me, a truly lovely surprise).  It was about a hundred dollars less than Amazon’s price, and came with free shipping (not an inconsiderable expense, since it does weigh sixty pounds).  I got it for Christmas.

I am delighted.  Not only is it light enough to stand on end in the corner when not in use, it sounds great and, although the action is a trifle heavier than I’m used to it still has nice enough responsiveness.  It has five sounds, reverb and chorus and a USB connection on the back which I am told will allow me to use other voices as a MIDI-type controller with Propellerhead Reason 4.0 Recording Software, although I am so pleased with the stock Grand Piano sound that I haven’t bothered. I suspect I will care about this when I start to re-learn Toccata and Fugue in D, since there is no church organ sound. 

I do love to freak out the stepchildren.  The only thing creepier than a mad stepfather playing Bach is one playing “In the Hall of the Mountain King”, but they probably don’t get the movie reference yet.

Look for references to public-domain sheet music here later.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

