jump to navigation

Bloodsucking Fiends by Christopher Moore August 16, 2011

Posted by stuffilikenet in Books, Brilliant words.
trackback

This cheery little book had me in stitches, and I am a grumpy old man.  Boy from the sticks meets girl vampire and hilarity ensues; that totally does not convey the quality of the humor.  Boy first finds himself engaged to seven Chinese immigrants who will marry anybody to get green cards. Boy meets modern Emperor Norton (“Emperor of San Francisco, and Protector of Mexico”), who gets him a managerial job nights at the Marina Safeway here in Baghdad-by-the-Bay (back when it wasn’t 24-7 operation) stocking shelves.  The Animals, his crew, find themselves amateur vampire hunters and pretty much heroic by the last pages.

Christopher Moore’s book is hysterically funny in that lovely deadpan manner I can’t resist.  There are, however, less humor-sensitive individuals out there, like nansee555.  She gave it one star on Amazon.

“This book is truly bad in so many respects. In case anyone will ask, "Well then, why did you buy it?", I’ll clarify that I was given it as a gift (I enjoy vampire and Gothic fiction and my friend liked the cover art.) And I finished it because I like to finish books, plus I was curious to see how the train wreck would end. If there is anything nice I can say about this book, it’s that perhaps I am not the right audience. And it has appealing cover art.”

I had to see what could be so different about her views and mine, so I entered the dark portal that is See all my reviews.

Oh, my.

Apparently she does enjoy gothic fiction, literary criticism and poetry.

I have often speculated about the personalities of people who could find social constructs like these satisfying.  It’s a little like the old joke:

“How many feminists does it take to screw in a light bulb?”

“That’s not funny.”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

