jump to navigation

Dragon Naturally Speaking 9 January 6, 2009

Posted by stuffilikenet in Publishing Tools.
trackback

Dragon NaturallySpeaking 9 Preferred [OLD VERSION]image is a dictation software suite with 99% accuracy after a very short training period.  I am told it gets even better with more training, but I only had time for about half an hour.  You can probably tell I don’t have much time for blogging either, but I do have time to dictate my thoughts into an MP3 player (more on that in future) during my commute.  Dragon can extract my words with pretty fair accuracy, which is enough for me to have something to work with later, since I edit quickly.

I recommend it highly.  I am told that Vista has nearly equivalent dictation abilities, although the ability to grab a wav file or MP3 and transcribe it isn’t something I’m sure Vista supports.

Exciting update: Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10 Preferred (image)is even cheaper, and still supports dictation on different devices like your iPodimage , iPhoneimage, Sansa Fuze 4 GB Video MP3 Player image or whatever.

Exciting Update 2: Dragon Dictation makes a free app for phones; just speak and Dragon Dictation transcribes. You can send the written memo as a text or e-mail, or post it to Facebook or Twitter. Dragon Dictation is a free-standing app for iPhone, but it is built into Nuance’s Android app called FlexT9, and for BlackBerry there’s a comparable Dragon for E-Mail app.

The Siri software on the iPhone 4S, the newest model, also does voice-to-text. These are the cheapest methods of getting dictation applications portably, but if you want it on your computer, use the links above to buy it, as I get a tiny commission from Amazon.

EXCITING UPDATE 3:  Dragon Naturally Speaking Premium12 apparently has had a nice boost in accuracy and guesswork algorithms but is like US$160 or so.  The latest Dragon NaturallySpeaking Premium 11, [Old Version]  is more affordable at US$59.99.  This one still does file transcription (record from somewhere, take home and transcribe on your computer).  They claim 99% recognition out of the box!

 

EXCITING UPDATE 4: I really should keep up with these things.  The current old version is 13.  It can be had for as little to $50.

Comments»

1. Rockbox and SanDisk Sansa MP3 Players « Stuffilike.net - February 5, 2009

[…] an FM tuner, can record FM on the fly and also take dictation (see my earlier post on the value of Dragon Naturally Speaking transcription […]


Leave a Reply

